Skip to content

Some news about Smiling Bag…

December 30, 2014

It’s been a while since I posted on this blog. The Website, http://www.SmilingBag.co.uk has now taken over as the main outlet for news and this blog was meant to serve as my personal outlet for blog posts but I never really thought about exactly what kind of things I’d post here. Stuff about games? My own life? Politics? Never got round to it, so, I haven’t posted, but there’s some news now which I think does belong here.

I don’t post about health issues often, it’s not something I let interfere with my life in general, but it’s hit a point where it’s going to be interfering with Smiling Bag at the least, and also, I think I need to talk about it maybe as some form of catharsis? So, like my Twitter friend Lisa Lynch, who’s attitude towards health issues has been an inspiration to me although she will never know it, I’m going to ‘Blog it out’, starting with this post.

I’ve had health issues for a long time – congenital heart disease, far too complicated to explain here. And I’ve always known it was a ticking time bomb. For the most part I’ve been able to lead a reasonably normal life, but the last few years have seen a significant downturn.

Doctors have always delayed complex surgery because I’ve been doing so well, and the risks of acting were greater than the risks of leaving me as I was. So, while we’ve managed to holdback the onslaught through various drugs and treatments, we’ve always known that one day the balance would tip and the risk for some complex surgery would start to look preferable to the risk of leaving me as I am.

Unfortunately, a week before Christmas, the balance finally tipped.

That’s about all I can bring myself to say on the subject for now, other than to say it’s likely to be weeks rather than months. I’d like to move the post on to more positive things that have happened.

Given the circumstances, we decided to move our wedding date way forward. So we got married 2 days after Christmas, and it was the happiest day of my life despite everything. We’re sorry for everyone that would have wanted to be there, but we simply didn’t have any time to think or plan. You try organizing a wedding in 3 days (One of which is Christmas!)

10891970_10152990653604743_3861856066742812790_n

The other thing this is obviously going to effect is Smiling Bag’s current project, NanoSquid. I’m not sure when I’m going to get back on to this, and as many indies will know, once you move off a project it’s sometimes hard to move back onto it (If you do at all). So I’d like to share with you some early gameplay footage of what’s been done so far.

That’s all for now, other than to say we’ve been touched by everyone being so understanding, and the amount of goodwill flying around at this time of year has helped us cope much better. So, until next time. This is Stew, a.k.a. Smiling Bag, Signing off!

xxx

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

