Skip to content

Ludum Dare 28 : One Bond

January 7, 2014

(Can’t be bothered to read, link is at the bottom)

It’s been a long time since I did a Jam, so I decided to participate in Decembers Ludum Dare. First time I’ve ever taken part in Ludum Dare, and the first thing that struck me was the number of rules they have. Maximum of 48 hours, starting with a blank canvas, no using code or assets you’ve previously made, must work alone, no outsourcing… they all really help to level the playing field.

Anyway… the theme was “You only get one”, which after a few rounds of voting won by a huge margin. I came up with the idea of bonding charged particles together, but only one at a time. I called it “One Bond”

TitleScreenshot

Initially, it started as a puzzle game where you would connect particles of opposite charges together in order to clear them from the screen, but over the course of the first day, as I added more features, I started to draw comparisons between the bonds and interactions of the particles in the game and other things. The movement of the planets, the wind, and people all over the world. So it became a game about ‘Particles and People’

Screen Shot 2013-12-14 at 14.36.52The whole thing came together fairly easily after that. All I had to do was think of something that people do, and then try and analogise that in the game. For example, people often lead us to where we want to be could become a level about particles steering other particles to their correct partners.

The results for the competition came out today, and ‘One Bond’ came in 27th place of the 1,284 entries (14th place in the innovation category), which I’m very happy with indeed.

Screen Shot 2013-12-14 at 18.26.45

I’ve decided that I’d like to turn it into a full product that this will most likely be the next full release from Smiling Bag. I’ve already made a whole bunch of changes to it (Most notably that you can now have more than one bond, so I guess I need to think of a new name!). Look out on this blog or my own Twitter feed for more information in the near future, but until then you can play ‘One Bond’ in its current form online.

Play ‘One Bond’ : Right Here

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

