Skip to content

My Wrongs : Abandoned Game Projects of 2012

December 10, 2012

Be honest now… of all the projects you start, how many do you actually finish? I’d conservatively estimate my own rate at around 1 in 10!

Don’t get me wrong, if I’m being paid to do a project, I will finish it. That’s called work! But as far as my own experiments and random mad scrawling goes… it’s a little different. See I love experimenting with concepts, and seeing if they work. So once I get past the prototype stage, if I’ve already had my fun with it, then it’s unlikely to get much further. Because that would be like… you know… work!

I’m not embarrassed or ashamed by this in any way. It’s part of the creative process. That’s showbiz, if it has to go it has to go! To that end, as we’re nearing the end of 2012, I’d like to share the contents of my cutting room floor with you.

Trolls

Trolls3

The concept…

Trolls was an old school first person Dungeon crawler which was going to be about hunting trolls. Each level was going to centre around hunting a specific one, and the type of troll would drastically dictate the gameplay for that level.

How far it went…

I took it as far as being able to create a map, and wander around it, and attack monsters.

Trolls1

Why it had to go…

This one fell by the wayside when Grimrock came out. Mostly because they managed what I was trying to do so well, I just basked in their glory. I was trying to bring back this old school genre. Since they already did so, there was little motivation for me to continue.

\O/ – Async Chaos on iPad

574808_10150822876449743_1380922972_n

The concept…

This was simply going to be a remake of chaos on iPad, with asynchronous play and a single player quest mode

549322_10150917462434743_656633406_n

How far it went…

You could control your wizards and monsters, and attack eachother.

Why it had to go…

Simply put, much to my delight, the man Julian Gollop himself started work on his own version, which sounded very similar to the one I was planning!

I am Level

A0lc9RfCAAAKi48

The concept…

Part platform game, part pinball game, this was a one button switch game with a number of different objectives depending on the level you were playing. The idea was that you’re controlling the ‘Level’ and not the characters (Whatever they might be). This one isn’t technically ‘Abandoned’, I’ve just lost confidence in it for reasons explained below. If I get hit by a wave of inspiration it might resurface.

Screen Shot 2012-12-10 at 18.27.54

How far it went…

This one is pretty much feature complete. All that is left to do really are levels. Which is kinda the whole thing!

Why it had to go…

I show off concepts quite early on to a number of people. Sometimes they get excited, sometimes they don’t. With this one, there was such a resounding ‘meh’ when I was demoing the initial levels that I just lost confidence in the concept and parked it. I think it’s just too pedestrian. Judge for yourself, here’s a video of it working…

Concept : I Am Level from Chicknstu on Vimeo.

Finger Olympics

The concept…

This one was a multiplayer iPad game which was conceived when the olympics came out. The iPad was going to act like a kind of treadmill, on which you could participate in a number of events. Running, Hurdles, Long Jump…

FingerOly

How far it went…

It’s finished! It’s sitting here on my hard drive… and there it will forever stay!

Why it had to go…

Because it’s an utterly ridiculous alcohol induced brain wrong, and should never been attempted in the first place!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. baz permalink
    December 11, 2012 2:23 pm

    They all look like they were worthy prototypes, but I came here to say that Finger Olympics needs to be released! just that image of fingers running on the ipad would make me download it!

    • December 11, 2012 5:02 pm

      It’s really, really not that good!

      I wish I could put a test version up, but Apple won’t let me.

      • December 11, 2012 5:20 pm

        Alcohol induced brain wrong?
        I’d download it, especially if you add that as a description.
        It’s these kind of mad ideas and games on iPad that are clearly missing.
        Have a few beers and play stuff like this? Sounds fun.
        Get it out there!

  2. Elliot permalink
    December 18, 2012 7:44 am

    Hey, that finger Olympics really does look cool! You should really considering going back to it, at least prior to the next Olympic games 🙂

Leave a Reply

